Easy and Cheesy Ham Panini

31 Dec

With some leftover ham after Christmas, just sitting all nicely flavored with honey and sliced for easy use, I just had to create something for lunch. Using a reduced fat cheddar, 10 grain bread, and dijon, this sandwich is much healthier than most restaurant paninis.

First, I grabbed some dijon mustard and 10 grain bread.

Next I grabbed the yummy leftover ham. We bought the ham to make “egg stuff” for breakfast on Christmas morning. Usually we use sausage, but this ham looked so good to us. For reference, it was a Smithfield boneless ham, about 4 lbs. It was my first time buying ham like this, and tasted similar to the Honeybaked Ham that I’ve had with my husband’s family.

Next I sliced up some tomatoes and got my grill ready. I don’t have a panini maker, but I have a griddler junior. It’s a mediocre substitute for an outdoor grill. But its great for quick chicken dinners and easy panini lunches!

Once my grill was heated nice and hot. I sprayed it with some non-stick spray. This grill is also made to accommodate meats cooking on both side and has a spring that allows you to fit thick foods without squishing them.

To make life easy, I recommend doing a final assembly of the panini on the grill. I put down the first slice of bread with dijon and ham. I then topped them both with tomatoes and then finally some cheddar cheese.

And after the second slice of bread, I closed the lid for even cooking and quick cheese melting. After only five minutes, the bread was a toasty golden brown and the ham was nice and hot, covered in gooey cheddar cheese. I couldn’t wait to eat it!

Of course, you could do a lot of different variations with this sandwich. Use your meat and veggies and sauce of choice. Just be sure not to pile the fillings too high!

Recipe Lovers:

4 slices whole wheat bread
6 slices of tomato
4 tbsp dijon mustard
4 medium slices of ham
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
(Makes 2 sandwiches)

Other filling ideas:
Turkey, Cranberry and Brie
Steak, Balsamic Dressing, Provolone
Ham, Swiss, Yellow Mustard

 

One Response to “Easy and Cheesy Ham Panini”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 1oo Years of Sliced Bread « Vidur's Blog - January 3, 2012

    […] Easy and Cheesy Ham Panini (dishdashdime.wordpress.com) […]

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

