What’s in the Slow Cooker?

5 Jan

I just love leaving work on the days that I have dinner in my slow cooker. There is an element of surprise for me when I walk through my garage door and take in the initial scent that fills up my entire house. I don’t think I’ve ever actually followed a slow cooker recipe. I just think about what kind of food and flavors sound good, and into the crock pot it goes. This day was no different.

I got these chicken leg quarters on sale at Bashas for $0.97/lb for a total cost of $4.47. I love getting these kinds of packs on sale because they always last for more than one dinner, and they’re always cheaper than buying boneless skinless chicken breasts (which sale cycle is much more rare than bone-in chicken). If the bone is in, generally, into the slow cooker it goes.

I began by adding one can of 98% fat free chicken broth to the bottom of my slow cooker. In order for your slow cooker to work properly, you need at least a 1/2 cup of liquid down there. Otherwise you’ll end up with some dry-charred-shoe-leather skin, not to mention awful clean up duty!

Next, I carefully sliced most of the skin off of the legs. No need for the extra fat, right? This was a pretty easy process considering it was my first time butchering the skin like that. After that, I added equal parts of garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, and pepper. I then gave each a sprinkle of sea salt. And into the crock pot they went. Two were on the bottom, pretty much marinating in the chicken broth, and two were on top, which meant they would get a nice crispy skin.

I had about two seconds until I absolutely needed to get in the car and go to work. So I grabbed an onion, quartered it, and added that to pot. Hubby and I love onion – I put it in everything! But please adjust to your own tastes.

And then this. my friends, was my surprise when I  got home. I call it a surprise for a reason. With the crock pot, you can’t really test it or taste it as you go along. Raw meat goes into a container for 7-8 hours on low and you hope that something edible comes out of the container when you return home.

Today was a wonderful, delicious surprise. I carefully pulled the chicken out of the slow cooker, trying hard to keep them intact as the chicken was falling off the bones.

I put a small pot on the stove to make some jasmine rice using 3 parts water and 1 part chicken broth from the slow cooker. I had some leftover spinach that was about to expire, so I also sauteed some spinach with butter, olive oil, and garlic as another side dish.

Important thing to note about spinach. This huge bunch is really only one small serving.

And finally, we were ready to eat. My husband’s patience for photographing food is decreasing by the day…

For the record, I got home at 5pm, took pictures, made rice and spinach, served and ate dinner, and we were back out the door at 5:45, with about 10 minutes of relaxing to spare. Now that’s what I call a weeknight meal!

4 Responses to “What’s in the Slow Cooker?”

  1. Malou Prestado January 5, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    This post made me very hungry!

    • Dish Dash Dime January 5, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      Thanks! Its funny how food pictures can make you hungry, right? I can be completely full and look at a food blog and bam, there I am wanting to cook again. 😀 Thanks for reading!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Slow cooker Monday « A Dash of Domestic - January 16, 2012

    […] What’s in the Slow Cooker? (dishdashdime.wordpress.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "eeeeee"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "555555"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "2970A6"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "c8c7c7"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "recipes"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "blogging"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dinner"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "family"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "frugal-living-2"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "homemaking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "how-to"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "just-thinking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "meat"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "slow-cooker"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "texas"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "things-that-make-you-go-yum"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "blogging"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cabernet-sauvignon"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cook"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "dinner"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "family"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "frugal-living"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "garlic"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "home"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "homemade"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "knor"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "meat"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "pot-roast"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "recipe"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "roast"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "sauce"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "slow-cooker-2"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "slow-cooking"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "soups-and-stews"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "stock-food"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "tablespoon"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "texas"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Spread the word!FacebookTwitterStumbleUponDiggPrintEmailMoreRedditLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Comments (0) Trackbacks (0) Leave a comment Trackback […]

  2. Slow Cooker Days « themiddlegeneration - January 31, 2012

    […] What’s in the Slow Cooker? (dishdashdime.wordpress.com) […]

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

