$aving on Groceries – Part 2

9 Jan

So in order to use a coupon, you gotta have a coupon. And finding them isn’t too hard to do. There are three specific places that I get my coupons from:

Newspapers – This is the number one way to get your inserts. If you live in an area with a big newspaper, chances are they offer a subscription that allows you to just get the Sunday paper. Or in some areas, a Sunday/Weds Plan. If you want more than one set of inserts, you can also get those delivered as well. In my area, if I want to have more than one Sunday paper, I have to switch to a plan where I receive the paper on more days each week (which costs more and seems like a waste). So I choose to receive one paper, and then I get one additional paper at the store. This works well for weeks when there are 5 inserts (I can get 2 or 3 papers) or weeks where there aren’t any inserts (no trip to the gas station that Sunday). I’ve adopted the rule from other couponers that you should have one insert per person in your household. Of course, depending on the age of the children, that could change. Because a picky three-year-old girl eats and uses a lot less than a 17-year-old athlete!

If you do buy your newspaper at the store, be sure to use sundaycouponpreview.com to know ahead of time which inserts should be in the paper. Sometimes, people go through and take the inserts out when they think no one is looking. Its sad, but it happens. It really stinks to get home with a paper to find out the inserts are missing.

Printable Coupon Websites – There are such a variety of coupon sites out there that are restocked each month. There are even sites that offer organic coupons, like Mambo Sprouts. Check out these coupon sites for printing coupons: CouponMom, RedPlum, and SmartSource.

Electronic Card Savings – Chances are, your favorite grocery store has a club card that gives you additional savings just for signing up.

– SavingStar works like a coupon savings account. You add your loyalty card and then add coupons to link to the card. When you buy an item, you don’t get a discount at the store, instead, the money goes into your SavingStar account. Coupons change frequently, so be sure to check them often.

– CellFire is a e-coupon service which allows you to add coupons directly to your card. Once you upload them online, just scan your card at the cash register and the coupons that can be applied will automatically come off your total amount.

– Your Grocery Stores e-coupon – My store offers coupons on their own website. I simply login and add the coupons to the card and then come off automatically at check out. I have learned a few tricks to make them work to my advantage too. One, I add them at least an hour before I’m headed to the store. Two, I always scan my card before any items are rung up. And three, I only add a coupon if its worth more than $1 (since my store makes all coupons worth at least $1).

Those are my three favorite ways to get coupons. If you need extra inserts, but don’t want to spend the time, ask around. Tell friends, family, and co-workers that you’ve started to collect coupons.

In Part 3, we’ll cover getting organized. Who cares if you have 100 coupons if you have no method to all the paper clipping madness!? Organization is key!

2 Responses to “$aving on Groceries – Part 2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. {Coupon} Crazy | Marisa Quijano-Scrapbooking | Design | Art | Pretty things | Life - January 12, 2012

    […] $aving on Groceries – Part 2 (dishdashdime.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Online Coupon Database Printable | The Best Deal Always - February 2, 2012

    […] Printable CouponsOnline Coupons For Small Business – The Good, The Bad And The UglyHappy Coupon-ing!$aving on Groceries – Part 2 var base_url_sociable = […]

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

