Chicken Spinach Salad

10 Jan

Sometimes, having leftover chicken in the fridge is the perfect answer to a quick weeknight meal. Simply shred or chop up the chicken breast. Next, add your favorite veggies. I like to add tomatoes and cucumber. If I have it, I’ll add avocado, blue cheese or feta crumbles, and even granny smith apples. You can also add some hard boiled egg too.

We use spinach for our greens, but you can use any that you like. We prefer spinach for the nutrients and health benefits. And for dressing, well that’s when this salad goes from average to amazing.

First swiftly whisk together 2 parts lemon juice with one part olive oil. Next add 2 tablespoons vinegar, 1 tsp garlic salt, 1tsp onion powder, and a dash of pepper. Note, those measurements are for 2 servings for entree sized salads.

You might want to adjust to your own tastes and preferences. We like vinegar, so I tend to add some more towards the end. If you don’t have lemon, you can substitute lime, but it will obviously result in a different flavor. I also added some parsley for additional flavor.

For me, food tastes as good as it looks – so presentation is everything. Even for a quick and simple meal like this. Sure, I could have tossed all the ingredients together. But when I came up with the idea of serving my meat and potato loving husband an entree salad for dinner, I knew I needed a better plan. So a-l-a-cobb-like-salad, I lined the ingredients up in thick, colorful lines. I also used serving bowls as opposed to a regular sized bowl or plate. Picture below is my salad with chicken, tomatoes, cucumber, granny smith apples, and mozzarella cheese (not my first choice, but had no other cheese on hand).

Make your dressing beforehand and let sit while you assemble the salad. Or better yet, make the dressing in the morning and let the flavors incorporate while you’re away. Either way, keep the dressing in the fridge until right before you serve. No one wants soggy lettuce!

This can be a really healthy and light meal too. Its totally refreshing to feast on fresh ingredients like raw spinach and apples and feel full. Let me know how you like it in the comments below. Enjoy!

Recipe Lovers

Salad:
2-3 cups Shredded or Chopped Chicken Breast
2 cups chopped tomatoes
1 cup chopped cucumber
1 cup of additional toppings (carrots, eggs, avocado, and blue cheese crumbles are my favs)
1 bag fresh spinach (if you can, use the spinach within 2-3 days after purchase for freshness and flavor)

Dressing:
2 Lemons
2 tbsp White Vinegar
1 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp onion powder
1/2 tsp parsley
Pepper to taste

2 Responses to “Chicken Spinach Salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Mary Cox Team Recipe Book « The Mary Cox Team's Blog - January 11, 2012

    […] Chicken Spinach Salad (dishdashdime.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Salad for Breakfast? « healingthymeproducts - January 28, 2012

    […] Chicken Spinach Salad (dishdashdime.wordpress.com) […]

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

