Quick & Easy Pizza Dough

30 Jan

Easy Pizza Dough plus a great BBQ Chicken Pizza Recipe

Have you ever come across a great pizza recipe only to discover you need half a day just to prep the dough! Eek! I don’t know about you but I just don’t have that kind of time when I need to get dinner on the table. Sure, homemade pizza dough can be worth the effort, but on Dish Dash Dime,  we’re talking about an easy weeknight meal.

If you’re going to use a pizza stone, place your stone in the oven and pre-heat the oven to 425. I use two pans, one for pizza and one for bread sticks.

For this recipe you will need one packet of rapid rise yeast, 1 tablespoon of sugar, 2-3 cups of flour, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and corn meal if you’re using a pizza stone.

First, add one cup of warm water to your stand mixer, with the dough hook attached. Add the yeast and sugar and let sit until it comes together and looks foamy/bubbly.

If you’ve never worked with yeast before, here’s a couple of hints. First, you need the temperature of the water to be warm – not boiling, but not lukewarm. Also, if you don’t see any foaming or bubbles after around 10 minutes, your yeast might have expired. This is called proofing.

While you wait, combine your Italian seasoning and garlic powder with olive oil.

Next you’ll start adding the flour. While adding the flour, I use the lowest speed possible. To be honest, I actually don’t measure this part anymore. I watch the dough come together and make judgements about how much more it needs. Start with one cup, and then add your olive oil mixture and salt. Next, add your flour 1/2 cup at a time until you reach 2 1/2 cups. If the dough is crumbly, add 1 tbsp of water at a time until the dough becomes smooth again.

When the dough is done mixing, it should be elastic and smooth. Let it rest on the dough hook for about 5 minutes.

Next, move the dough to a floured work surface.

Mold the dough into a round and cover with a towel for 5-10 minutes to rest. This is a great time to prepare your toppings.

For this particular pizza, I shredded up some leftover chicken.

Then I added about 1/4 cup of BBQ sauce. I also chopped up some onion and scallions. For the cheese, I used a mixture of both mozzarella and cheddar cheese.

After the dough has rested, the size will be a bit larger.

Punch down the dough and then roll it out to your desired width. At this point, I usually remove a part of the dough to make bread sticks. I like a thin crust pizza, so I roll out my dough the entire width of my 14 inch pizza stone. If you like thick crust, use a small pizza pan and keep the dough thicker, or even make it in a pan with a raised edge.

Prepare a pizza stone with cornmeal. For a regular pan, use non-stick spray.

Carefully transfer your dough onto the pizza stone. I always have my rolling-pin ready for any weird pulling that happened during the transfer to help even out the dough. With the pizza stone, you’ll smell and hear the sizzle immediately. At this point I try to quickly prick the entire crust with a fork and then brush the edges with leftover olive oil and Italian seasoning mixture from earlier.

For this pizza, I used a BBQ sauce base. Spread your desire amount across the crust.

Next, add your toppings, be sure to not load up too much in the middle, to ensure an even cooking process.

Finally, add your cheese, trying your best to make sure that the cheese is even throughout the pizza. I used about 1/2 cup of cheddar and 1 cup mozzarella.

Since I’ve only used a pizza stone, I can’t speak for the timing on a regular pan. I usually put the time on for 15 minutes, and then check it every 5 minutes from there on out. With different toppings, it will depend on the timing. The thickness of crust and the amount of toppings will also change your cooking times.

For the bread sticks, I simply roll them out into an oval shape. I then add some olive oil, garlic salt and a sprinkling of cheese. I put this together while the pizza is baking and add them in around 10 minutes in so that they both come out around the same time. Usually I try to not open the oven while I bake, but in this case, with the pizza stone, you should be fine.

Then out they come, all golden brown, melty, and bubbly.

I have to admit, about every 5th pizza I make, the pizza just doesn’t come together. I’ve had dough that doesn’t rise right, dough that is too dense, or too flimsy. It always tastes great and we always gobble it all up before coming up for air. But I don’t claim to be a master at this, and neither should you! So don’t get disappointed if this isn’t the best professional gourmet pizza you’ve ever seen or tasted. Afterall, I’ve heard the best pizza crust is made from the right water – so who really knows!?

I’d love to hear about your favorite toppings. Does anyone have a favorite homemade pizza?

We topped our pizza with fresh diced tomatoes, since we love the crisp cold texture against the melted cheese. Seriously wish I was eating this right now!

4 Responses to “Quick & Easy Pizza Dough”

  1. trialsinfood January 30, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    Looks delicious! I’ve never attempted pizza dough before but based on your recipe it doesn’t seem too bad.

    • Dish Dash Dime January 30, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      With this recipe, I ‘ve learned it won’t ever turn out horrible. But if you make it every couple weeks like I do, you’ll see that the tiniest details determine whether you have a good crust, or a “facebook update, tweet in all caps, call your gourmet chef friend and brag” kind of pizza. So give it a try and let me know how it turns out. It sure beats waiting all day for bread to rise!

  2. Ira January 30, 2012 at 3:23 am #

    I got a new pizza oven for Xmas, I’ll be trying your recipe for sure!
    Gosh pizza is amazing!

    http://flythenest.wordpress.com/

    • Dish Dash Dime January 30, 2012 at 11:04 am #

      Oh a special kitchen gadget just for pizza? I’d love to hear about that! And yes, pizza is amazing!

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

