Superbowl Extravagaza: Healthy Guacamole

3 Feb

You might think that guacamole is one of the more fatty dips to avoid during a diet. But then you hear that avocado is good for you – a healthy fat, they say. Then why is this delicious go-to party/game dip such a calorie-laden waistline disaster? A little avocado, good for you. Heaping servings of guacamole and 15 tortilla chips…not so much! So I have learned a trick, thanks to some help from others, that will reduce the fat and calories too! Wanna know the secret?

Early Young PEAS! If you are anything like me, I know that right now you are thinking, “GROOOOSSS, what an awful thing to pair with avocado!” But I can promise that you will barely even taste it. Here’s my version of pea & avocado “guac” dip.

If you have some built up frustration, go ahead and start mashing the drained peas with the back of a spoon. Or, you can toss them in a mini food processor and push a button. I did a little of both to get the smooth consistency that I wanted for the peas.

I like my guacamole to have actual bits of avocado in it. So instead of scooping the entire avocado in at once, I mashed the peas together with one half the avocado and then added my seasoning.

For my guacamole seasoning, healthy version, or full calorie-loaded treat, I use: 1 tbsp lime juice, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp garlic salt, 1/4 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp onion powder. If I have fresh minced garlic on hand, I throw that in too.

Next add your veggies. I usually add both finely chopped yellow onion, and diced roma tomatoes. I love tasting the individual veggies, but if you prefer a smoother taste, leave them out, or mince both veggies to enhance the overall flavor.

Lastly, add your second half of avocado into your dip. Incorporate it with all the ingredients and then grab a chip. I know you’re skeptical, but don’t worry. You won’ taste the peas – unless you’re really searching for them.

Go ahead, have your friends at the party try it. Maybe make one without and one with to see the difference. Yes, there will be one – mostly in a slight color change, but who would have thought PEAS would be the trick? I estimate that you’ll cut calories by half and cut your fat by almost 75% less than an all-avocado version.

If you are making this in advance, cover tightly with plastic wrap and use the pit to keep the guacamole a bright green color. This recipe is best served after being in the refrigerator for at least one hour.

One Response to “Superbowl Extravagaza: Healthy Guacamole”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Superbowl Food Extravaganza! « Dish Dash Dime - February 5, 2012

    […] Guacamole […]

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

