Superbowl Extravagaza: Sweet BBQ Chicken Bites

5 Feb

I love wings. Not the burn your mouth, sweat like a pig, be a man, kind of wings. I’m talking about the saucy, crispy, hot wings that you order with your pizza, or at a bar. Sometimes I go for a little heat, and sometimes I go for something a little smoky and sweet. But making any kind of wing at home can be a mess, and a challenge. So I found two ways to make it easier, one, cheat and use a jarred sauce, and two, instead of deep-frying, use a light coating, and a quick toss in a pan.

So what inspired this recipe (haha, more like steps to assemble than a gourmet recipe here!)? When I stumbled upon this great find, at a great price, I knew I was going to make a homemade version of “boneless wings.”

But since I used chicken tenders for my meat, I call them bites. I cut the tenders into bite sized pieces. You could use any boneless chicken cut for this recipe.

I mixed the chicken with some salt, pepper, and a dash of franks red hot (or just plain hot sauce works too).

And then using a 2 parts flour to 1 part cornstarch mixture, coat the chicken by tossing it together in the bowl.

If you want a true, crispy breading, then dip your floured chicken into a scrambled egg mixture, and then coat with flour again.

Next, using your choice of pan (I used a sauce pan since it was clean, haha!) Heat 1/2 inch of canola or vegetable oil on medium high. Be careful that your oil doesn’t get too hot, otherwise the outside will burn before the chicken is fully cooked.

Fry the chicken in batches. If you throw all the chicken in at once, the temperature of the oil will cool down too much and cause the chicken to cook poorly, and absorb excess oil.

Let each side of the chicken cook about 2 minutes. Check a piece after your first batch, since your oil temp, pan, and size of your bites will impact the time you need to cook them.

I apologize for this next picture, but I was obviously moving very fast when I made these! When they are finished, they’ll have a light, crispy, golden brown skin. Let them drain on a paper towel for about 5 minutes. This is a great time to prep any celery or carrots you want to serve with your bites.

To sauce your bites up, you’ll need a bowl about 3 times the size the amount of chicken you have. If this isn’t possible, you can always toss them in batches.

Using any sauce you like, or in my case, the Frank’s RedHot Wings Sweet BBQ flavor, pour a generous amount over the wings, along with 1-2 tablespoons of butter. Not very healthy, but so very yummy!

First the butter:

Then the sauce…and toss!

These delicious bites are best served immediately. However, you can make the chicken bites ahead of time, and then pop them in the oven at 250 for about 20 minutes. Once hot, toss with the sauce and serve. (You will lose too much texture with the microwave).

Serve with a cool side of ranch dressing and crispy celery sticks. Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Superbowl Extravagaza: Sweet BBQ Chicken Bites”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Superbowl Food Extravaganza! « Dish Dash Dime - February 5, 2012

    […] Sweet BBQ Chicken Bites […]

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

