Turkey Bacon Sliders

13 Feb

So originally, this post was supposed to make it in time for the Superbowl. But I had a crazy busy week at work this past week. Its been great that my job is going well enough that I’m working every day, but it also leaves me less time to blog! So onto what you are here for, a recipe!

Sliders are one of my favorite things to order with a crowd at bars/restaurants. They offer a mini bite without committing to a giant burger sure to create a mess. So I thought, how hard can these be to make at home? For this recipe, I used ground turkey and turkey bacon (a Dish Dash Dime staple) to make them a little healthier than the ground beef restaurant alternative. And did I mention how EASY this dish is? I bet you could use what you already have in your pantry and put your own spin on it too!

First, for two people, and eight sliders, shape ground turkey into two patties.

And since all meat needs seasoning, add a dash of pepper, salt, and garlic salt, to your personal preference.

Be sure to season both sides evenly. And then, sear them on a hot frying pan. I also love a fresh burger off the grill, so take it outside if you like too!

While waiting for your pan to heat up, or while your significant other is grilling, throw some bacon on the stove for some added flavor, texture, and crunch on the sliders.

Turkey bacon comes fully cooked, so it just needs to be heated up. I still prefer using the stove top, although I guess you could try the microwave too. If you’ve never had turkey bacon before, know that it despite the obvious flavor difference, the texture and the overall crispiness is much different. Even if you were to char your turkey bacon, it will still have some flexibility to it. Its more chewy than regular bacon, but it also has good flavor, and over 50% less fat (look at nutritional labels to see the exact difference as it varies by brand). I’ve been using the Jenne-O turkey bacon as a substitute for so long, I don’t even see a difference! But if you have picky eaters, better save the healthy bacon for your own personal BLT.

Next, let’s get our rolls ready. When making sliders, nothing beats a sweet Hawaiian roll. I bought the sub rolls as opposed to the actual Hawaiian rolls since they were much less expensive. Not sure why, but I happily grabbed this deal.

If you haven’t yet, place your patties into a frying pan. If you are using extra lean turkey meat, spray a tiny bit of oil into the pan first.

In my fridge, I only had shredded cheddar. And since I’m a big fan of using what you have instead of making a trip to the store, shredded cheddar is what I used. For a yummy treat, slice up 8 pieces of Tillamook extra sharp cheese.

Then slice each patty into fourths. Try to make each cut as even as possible so you end up with eight similar mini patties. Then place them on the bottom parts of each bun.

And then add bacon!

Then add the top bun and assemble on a plate. For an appetizer, serve them with toppings on the side so guests can add their favorites. Slice up Roma tomatoes for the perfect size. To keep the burgers together, secure each of them with a toothpick.

 

For a meal, serve these with Seasoned Potato Wedges for a meal that any family will devour.

For recipe lovers:

For eight sliders:

1 package Kings Hawaiian Rolls or Mini Sub Rolls
1/2 lb extra lean ground turkey
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp garlic salt
6 slices turkey bacon
1/4 cup shredded cheese OR 8 small slices of cheddar cheese
Tomato, Lettuce, Onion, Pickles, optional

So what do you think? Leave me a comment:

